The world’s best new public library will be selected once again this year

The international ’Systematic – Public Library of the Year’ architecture prize will be awarded again this year. The committee of judges has been appointed, and the prize will be awarded in August at the annual meeting of IFLA

Kista Bibliotek - Public Library of the Year 2015. Foto: Mattias P. Dahlqvist
Kista Bibliotek Foto: Mattias P. Dahlqvist

Deputy Director for the Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces Morten Lautrup-Larsen says:

"Libraries are centres of culture and knowledge. Therefore, it is important that we continually examine how the physical and social settings are being developed for the library’s functions. That is why I am happy that, once again this year, we can share experiences by highlighting especially successful examples from the entire world when it comes to interior design and the development of libraries."

The Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces in collaboration with the IFLA’s Public Library Section and the IT firm Systematic A/S will hand out this year’s Library of the Year Award. The prize is a part of the Model Programme for Public Libraries, which provides tools and an inspiration catalogue for libraries all over the world.

Martin Brøchner-Mortensen, Vice President of Systematic with responsibility for libraries and schools, says:

"We are proud to sponsor the prize and to participate in the award ceremony, and we are looking forward again this year to learning more about fascinating libraries around the world."

The prize is awarded to a public library that is newly-built or refurbished in a building that has not previously been used as a library between 1 January 2014 and 1 June 2016 and that meets the criteria for a modern public library set by the Model Programme for Public Libraries.

The prize, consisting of US$ 5,000, will be awarded in August 2016 at the annual meeting of the IFLA, The International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions, in Columbus, Ohio, USA. The prize was awarded for the first time in 2014. In 2015, the award went to Kista Library in the Municipality of Stockholm.

Committee of Judges

- Chairperson of the Committee, Morten Lautrup-Larsen, Deputy Director, Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces
- Maria Wedel Søe, Architect MAA, Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces
- Jens Lauridsen, Library Head, Tårnby Municipality Libraries
- Iben Østerbye, Head of Communications, Herning Library
- Jan Richards, Manager, Central West Libraries, New South Wales, Australia
- Leikny Haga Indergaard, Library Head, Bergen Public Library, Norway
- Kent Martinussen, CEO, Danish Architecture Centre
- Michael Christensen, Creative Director, CCO 
Read about the nominated and the winner from 2015

Practical information  

Applications may be submitted beginning 1 April 2016, and cases for the 2015 nominees may be found on the Model Programme’s homepage. The deadline for applications is 1 June 2016. 

Read more about The Model Programme for Public Libraries



Last updated: 16.03.2017


Jakob Dahl Klausen
41 39 38 11

Systematic A/S

Martin Brøchner-Mortensen
+ 45 89 43 20 00

  • Agency for Culture and Palaces
  • H.C. Andersens Boulevard 2
  • DK-1553 Copenhagen V
  • Telephone: +45 33 95 42 00

Dialogboksen begynder her. Du kan lukke boksen ved at trykke Accepter cookies knappen eller Enter. Knappen er det sidste element i boksen.

Vores cookies samler ikke på personoplysninger

Vi bruger cookies for at forbedre din oplevelse, samle statistik og huske dine indstillinger. Ved at klikke på "Accepter cookies" godkender du dette. Du kan sige nej tak ved at klikke her.

Læs mere om cookies: Cookie- og privatlivspolitik

(dialogboks slutter)